103012: Our first ever pumpkin carving event.

I’ve been a mom for 10 years, and I have gotten away without carving a pumpkin. This year, with all the sudden decor frenzy and my daughter’s dad ended up buying her a pumpkin from the patch [which I also managed to skip here and there], her school needing pumpkin donations, and my son not having a pumpkin at all – so we all went to the store and bought 2 pumpkins. 1 for the school and 1 for my son. I figured, we’ll just stick stickers on it, or paint it and be done with it.

I guess it didn’t end there. My boss was kind enough to have found a monkey skeleton pattern, sure enough, my daughter went ballistic!

My son was happy thinking he gets to carve the one pattern they both wanted….nope. I managed to find a simple Angry Bird pattern for him.

It’s Halloween Eve and I really was thinking of letting the pumpkins be – but I guess, I still have enough decorating juice left in me and the kids were truly excited to be carving for the 1st time. I must say, I’m glad that I did this family activity. My son could not stop saying he loves family times like this.

I’m proud to say that my son did 99% of the work on his pumpkin! He’s proud too.

My daughter who’s had carving experience from her dad’s side tried her best, and ended up being the cleaning helper. She poked a few holes on the pumpkin, and decided that Power Rangers is more exciting. Nevertheless, I finished her pumpkin, and she was proud that her mommy did it for her.

It’s too dark to take pics so I’ll take them tomorrow morning and night when I have fresh batteries and a tea light to go inside the lanterns.

10/31/12 Update: Here’s the pumpkins that they carved the night before.

Until then….

Leave a Reply

